Our History

The Health Professions Authority (HPA) of Zimbabwe is a health professions regulatory body which was established following the repealing of the Medical, Dental and Allied Professions Act (Chapter 27:08) and the disbandment of the Health Professions Council (HPC) on 30 June 2001.

The Health Professions Authority was created in terms of the provisions of Section 4 of the new Health Professions Act (Chapter 27:19) which came into effect on 2nd April 2001.  The Health Professions Authority commenced operations on 1st July 2001.

The first Authority comprised of members appointed by the Minister of Health and Child Care and ran from 15 February 2002. Subsequent Authorities have been elected in accordance with the Health Professions Act. Past Presidents are Mr Abram Harid, Dr Gordon L. Bango and Dr Phineas S. Makurira. Dr Obadiah Moyo was Acting President for a period of time. The third Authority ran from 17th November 2010 to 30th June 2015 under the presidency of Professor Innocent Gangaidzo.

Current Authority

The current Authority was inaugurated on 5th August 2015 by the Honourable Minister of Health and Child Care, Dr David Parirenyatwa and its term of office runs from 1st July 2015 to 30th June 2020 under the presidency of Dr Adolf Macheka.